Creation of new zonal commands pitches Commission against IG of Police

Releated Post

By Tope Oke

The creation of new zonal commands by the Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Adamu may have pitched him against the Police Service Commission.

The commission has refused to approve the promotion of 112 senior police officers until the issue of creation of zonal Commands are resolved.

Consequently, the commission is asking Adamu, to provide the Presidential approval on the creation of new commands.

Though the commission promoted Assistant Inspector -General of Police, Sanusi Lemu to Deputy Inspector General of Police, to replace retired DIG Abdulmajid Ali, representing the North Central.

It also approved the promotion of Commissioner of Police, Mustapha Dandaura, former CP Anambra and Rivers States, to the substantive rank of AIG.

The IG had in May announced the establishment of five zonal commands, including Ondo/Ekiti command with headquarters at Akure, Ondo State; Enugu/Anambra/Ebonyi Command with headquarters in Ukpo-Dunukofia in Anambra State.

Others are Bayelsa/Rivers command with headquarters in Yenogoa,Bayelsa State;
Katsina,/Kaduna command with headquarters in Katsina; Yobe/Borno command with headquarters in Maiduguri, Borno State.

The Force Intelligence Bureau was also excised from the FCID to become a full-fledged department to be headed by a DIG.

But rising from its 9th Plenary meeting in Abuja on Monday and Tuesday, presided over by the PSC Chairman, Musiliu Smith, the commission said the affected officers who were drawn from the new commands would not be promoted until the IGP provided the presidential authorization.

In a statement issued on Friday by the commission’s spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani, entitled, ‘PSC promotes 175 senior police officers, steps down 112 others, the commission maintaned that IGP submits Presidential approval creating new zonal commands and departments.’

Also promoted were 167 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendent, three Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendent, two Assistant Superintendents of Police to Deputy Superintendent and four Inspectors to Assistant Superintendent.

The commission also confirmed the acting appointments of 60 senior officers, including three Commissioners of Police and four Deputy Commissioners.

The beneficiaries are CP, Kwara State, Egbetokun Adeolu; CP, Lagos State, Odumosu Olusegun, and CP Works at the Force headquarters, Shehu Shuaibu.

Others are DCPs Nwonyi Emeka, Ibrahim Maikaba; Ahmed Musa and former Force Public Relations Officer and currently DCP, CID, Airport Command, Lagos, Jimoh Moshood.

The statement added, “The commission stood down the promotions of 112 senior police officers for failure of the Inspector-General of Police to comply with the directive of the commission to attach the Presidential approval for the creation of additional police zonal commands and departments from where the vacancies for the recommended officers were harvested.

“The commission stood down the promotion of 13 CPs, eight DCPs and 91 Chief Superintendents of Police.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Posts

Thanks for subscribing to our newsletter