Coronavirus: Five countries block flights from South Africa

Releated Post


Five countries on Monday announced that they have banned flights from South Africa following the discovery of a new variant of the coronavirus
South African scientists last week confirmed that the new variant could see more people infected in the country’s second wave than in the initial surge.

Since the end of September, they established that 501.V2 variant has between 10 and 20 new mutations. While it is still unclear whether it is more deadly, it appears to be spreading faster and parts of the Eastern and Western Cape provinces are facing strict lockdown restrictions.

Israel, Turkey, Germany, Saudi Arabia and Switzerland have all barred air travel to and from South Africa.

“Following the discovery of a new, more contagious variant of the coronavirus in the UK and South Africa, the Federal Council today decided to take steps to prevent the further spread of this new virus strain,” it said in a statement.

“All persons who have entered Switzerland from these two countries since December 14 must go into quarantine for 10 days.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Posts

Thanks for subscribing to our newsletter