INEC commissioner Nahuche resigns, five others retire

Releated Post

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) National Commissioner, Abubakar Nahuche has resigned.

Nahuche resigned barely a few minutes after the INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, handed over to Air Vice Marshall Ahmed Mu’azu (rtd.).

Yakubu who was recently renominated by President Muhammadu Buhari, stepped aside pending the confirmation of hos rwappointment by the senate.

INEC National Commissioner and Chairman (Information and Voter Education Committee), Festus Okoye, confirmed the resignation in a message

He said, “INEC National Commissioner and chairman, Estate, Works and Transport Committee, representing North-West, Abubakar Nahuche, resigned his appointment on personal reasons and the President has accepted his resignation and thanked him for his services to the nation.”

Also, another five National Commissioners retired during the handover ceremony held at the Conference Rome at INEC Headquarters, Abuja.

They are Hajiya Amina Zakari, Prof. Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo, Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky, and Prince Adedeji Solomon Soyebi.

Meanwhile, a new Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Chukwuemeka Chukwu, representing Abia State was appointed at the event.

The new REC, whp was a lecturer at the University of Nigerian, Nsukka has been deployed to Ebonyi State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Related Posts

Thanks for subscribing to our newsletter